Highbrow High Score

The Art of Gaming Intellectually

You Can’t Explain That

with one comment

After this quick post on Kotaku, I feel like the best way to get this blog back in track is to make a confession…

Up until now, I’d chuckled at “creeper” jokes with my friends and pretended to fully understand this xkcd comic on the game but, the time has come to tell the truth.

I don’t “get” Minecraft. Maybe I haven’t tried hard enough… but I genuinely do not understand and it breaks my heart.

Particularly because of how I’ve whined about a lack of compelling game play in many games. Simply not enjoying and not understanding this game are personal failures of mine, but I also am curious as to how it gained such a following.

Am I totally alone in this? If not Minecraft than another “must play” game?

Written by highbrowhighscore

April 7, 2011 at 2:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How relevant. I’ve been playing around in Minecraft for the past two days and have no idea if I’m having fun yet. It really reminds me of that Sim City map editor except I’m down on the ground doing the work pixel by pixel. Typing it out that way makes it sound incredibly dull, but I also lose track of time playing. I’ll look at the clock and have somehow stayed up playing this little game until 2AM.
    I guess it’s not for everyone.
    A must play? How about Crayon Physics? I was really entertained with that one.

    D

    April 7, 2011 at 6:39 am


Leave a Reply

