Highbrow High Score

The Art of Gaming Intellectually

The State of Gaming

leave a comment »

I realized I started out some of my previous posts with big concepts – things that couldn’t possibly be condensed into a 500 word blurb. This one is more of a manifesto detailing where I see video games as a form of entertainment and part of my life – basically, another big concept that’s probably not going to go over the 500 word mark because I’m going to rant in bullet points.

Just some thoughts on what I read and see advertised, for better or for worse:

  • I really hope the console wars will end soon. Fanboys of all stripes: you’re annoying.
  • Smartphone gaming is addictive and accessible.
  • Nintendo needs to give up the ghost and stop trying to sell us gimmicks.
  • I’m tired of modern First Person Shooters…
  • Indie games like Super Meat Boy, Cthulhu Saves the World and Limbo make me feel as giddy as a little girl about video games again.
  • I’ve bought Resident Evil 4 on AT LEAST 3 consoles. And it’s been released again?! Capcom: Make another damn game. Seriously.
  • Motion controlled games stopped being fun around Wii Sports. I want to sit on the couch like an honest-to-god lazy gamer.
  • The Playstation Vita is so pretty…
  • … but, I have an iPhone that plays NBA JAM, so I’m probably set on handhelds.
This is the first of many rants that will inspire more lengthy posts – long intellectual discourses! Or, more likely, just me talking about Catherine – Atlus’ horror/relationship game which I hope to finish this weekend!
Written by highbrowhighscore

September 25, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

