Highbrow High Score

The Art of Gaming Intellectually

Nostalgia

leave a comment »

I consider myself and my generation “on the cusp” of video game movements. On one hand, we grew up with classic consoles and as we continued to play, saw a surge of graphical enhancements, console wars, and “hardcore” games as we got older. Instead of seeing video games as childish like older generations or being spoiled on modern games like younger ones, we found ourselves growing just as quickly as the industry itself, watching as games fell in and out of favor and the community becoming more vibrant.

Luckily, emulators make it easy to enjoy games like this again

Sweet, Campy Goodness

But because of the accelerated growth that occurred as we were becoming adults, what we feel nostalgic for can vary greatly. Today, for example, I got a strange urge to play Zombies Ate My Neighbors, the game my sister and I played non-stop and was my first co-op experience. That game still gets my vote for best zombie themed game ever. And later in my young life, when the Sega Genesis got old and newer, nicer consoles came out, I found myself talking about why the Dreamcast was better than the Playstation (still red-faced about that),then later still, being introduced to the seemingly endless world of Liberty City and muting GTA III anytime my mother was near.

With recent stellar releases, I think about the games I used to look forward to – reading “Nintendo Power,” ooing and awing over the high-end graphics of 4th and 5th gen consoles, puzzling over “conceptual” versions of the PS2. And at the same time, 5th grade and the birthday parties I went to. I think the accelerated growth of the industry colored my childhood in such a way that video games became standard, yet so full of wonder as I steeped myself in the culture.

And that changes the way I think about them now. They are not childish vestiges of imagination or even a disposable form of media. I take the games I love to heart because they have always been there for me – to explore, rampage, challenge, terrify, but most importantly, to instill a sense of awareness of my life and letting me look at things as they aren’t to appreciate things as they are.

Written by highbrowhighscore

November 23, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

