Highbrow High Score

The Art of Gaming Intellectually

Rainy Day Games

with 4 comments

Although the holiday season is (frighteningly) close, most of the big blockbuster games came out earlier in the year. That being said, while I got the opportunity to buy and play a lot of great games this year, limited time and money meant there was a lot I had to pass on.  This year has added a few games to my “to play” list and hopefully 2012 will afford me more opportunities to enjoy them.

These games will have to wait until I get done with my Dragonborn duties...

  • Deus Ex: Human Revolution – Although I could not tell you exactly what this game is about, the “cool” factor was almost enough to make me buy it on release – but not quite.
  • L.A. Noire – Now that I don’t have to drop upwards of $50 on a game I’ll only play once, I may consider grabbing this old-school detective story.
  • Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception – With this one still being pretty new, I don’t see myself going for it yet. Instead, I’ll watch the Indiana Jones films a few times – just the first three, don’t worry!

Indy would win this fight, but Captain Reynolds would kick both of their asses.

  • The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword – Unfortunately, I will have to buy the console again, but I would feel cheated if I didn’t get to play a brand new Zelda adventure.
  • Minecraft – This one is sitting on my desktop, just waiting to be played, but I haven’t had the attention span or direction to really get into it yet.

    It looks so sad and alone

So, there are a few games that didn’t quite make it for me this year – what’s on your rainy day list?

Written by highbrowhighscore

December 1, 2011 at 3:51 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m actually taking 2012 to go fairly old school. (Not that I’m enough of a gamer to worry about keeping current unnecessarily anyway.) I recently started going back through the original Final Fantasy (downloaded to the wii), and have enjoyed the experience so much that I intend to go through all the FF games and the Zelda franchise (as much as time, money, and console limitations will allow) over the course of the next year. (If I’m feeling *REALLY* cheeky, I might even bust out some Castlevania, but frankly FF and Zelda will probably take me the better part of the year to get through at least.)

    So, new question: favorite rainy day RETRO games? Ready…GO!

    csheidler

    December 1, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    • Oh I was gonna get one of the classic FF games on my phone, but they’re like 15 bucks. If I were going to replay any retro games, I’d go with Chrono Trigger and the previously mentioned Zombies Ate My Neighbors.

      Castlevania is always a good idea. “But enough talk; have at you!”

      highbrowhighscore

      December 2, 2011 at 1:32 am

  2. My to list of to play games has exploded this year. I could probably get away with not buying any new games in 2012 and still have a full docket of things to play. I’m still rolling over games from last year’s list. The top spot easily goes Dark Souls. I’ve played a bit of this already, but it’s hard to say how much real progress I’ve made. It’s a pretty serious game. I might even put it above Skyrim for a personal GOTY. I also grabbed the Arkham series, the Witcher series, and Orcs Must Die to name few.
    I was really impressed with DXHR and really disappointed by L.A. Noire.

    D

    December 7, 2011 at 7:58 pm


Leave a Reply

