Highbrow High Score

The Art of Gaming Intellectually

The Retro Blues

with 5 comments

I recently sold my PS3 and all of the accessories and I wasn’t the least bit sad about it. Although I did invest a good deal of money into it, I found myself playing it less and less and instead focusing on my 360 and emulators on my PC. Although I enjoyed a few titles on the Playstation 3, new titles became increasingly less interesting.

I’ve mostly been focusing on SNES games as they seem to be the most readily available online and I’ve been feeling some nostalgia flaring up. I bought a USB SNES controller and it’s been great for Street Fighter (I’m a little ashamed to admit my girlfriend kicked my ass completely on this one). I’ve also been enjoying Super Metroid, Aladdin, and my personal favorite Zombies Ate My Neighbors.

RetroLink SNES USB Controller

Thank you Amazon.com!

I’ve also found new (old) games that I didn’t get to play the first time around like E.V.O. The Search for Eden, a platformer that follows forms of life as they evolve towards perfection with the aid of Gaia, the embodiment of Earth.

The vastness of the retro library is almost frightening and I sometimes find it hard to make a decision as to what I want to play. I’ve even been toying with the idea of buying an old Dreamcast or Playstation 2 and playing underrated games from that generation. But I don’t know if my nostalgia would fade after a few plays of Crazy Taxi. Even going to my parents and finding my N64 would be fun for a few hours, but could I replace higher powered consoles with Mario Kart 64?

In any event, I wouldn’t be out a ton of money even if I found all three systems and a few decent games for them. Any suggestions on older games from the SNES or Genesis generation or tips on which obsolete console to check out again?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you don’t play this game in the next 90 days, I hope your eyeballs turn into black holes that collapse your entire skull under an ever-burgeoning density.

    http://bit.ly/dOhMMs

    l3gi0nnair3

    May 3, 2012 at 7:07 pm

  2. The Lost Vikings – I think it was one of the first Blizzard games? It was a multiplayer/switch thing. Navigate three vikings through an spaceship. It was a great game mixing puzzle with platformer with some solid humor.
    I loved playing it as a kid and run it with an emulator now. It’s a game that tends to get lost among other great games of that generation, but it is worth checking out.

    D

    May 9, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    • Oh I remember playing that on PC! It was a great platformer that I forgot about – finding it now.

      highbrowhighscore

      May 11, 2012 at 2:16 pm

      • We didn’t ask for your life story. Jeez.

        l3gi0nnair3

        May 11, 2012 at 2:20 pm

      • A couple other games I remember from that time
        Yoshi’s Story which I think was on SNES and a bunch of Yoshis carried a baby Mario around.
        And a Batman game that I don’t remember the name of. It was a two player thing on a Sega console. You and a friend played Batman and Robin fighting badguys. You could accquire different tools/gadgets like batarangs, slippery goo, and smoke pellets to bust up evil-doers.

        D

        May 11, 2012 at 4:43 pm


Leave a Reply

